Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

I was such a shy, quiet person - Liza Donnelly

I wanted to be a political cartoonist. I'm a quiet person, so at the time I thought, well, I don't think I can be a political cartoonist because I don't have strong enough opinions. People I really admired, like Herblock and The Washington Post and Garry Trudeau, they're really hard-hitting cartoons - Liza Donnelly

But The New Yorker has always had political cartoons. And so I saw The New Yorker as a teenager, and I thought, well, maybe I could be there. And, luckily, they bought my work right after college. Liza Donnelly


You can do it.
Find the match to your sensibilities. And try.
Don't try to be the best someone else, that never works.
Be your best you.

Full Length Conversation
Liza Donnelly: Political Cartoons, Connection, Hope | Turn the Lens Podcast with Jeff Frick
YouTube -

-Spotify -

- Transcript and show notes - https://www.turnthelenspodcast.com/episode/liza-donnelly-political-cartoons-connection-hope-turn-the-lens-05 - or wherever you podcast

#risktaking #talent #career #journey #cartooning #cartoons #humor #society #PoliticalCartoons #NewYorker #EricKorenman #l5studios #captioned #shy #satire #artist #Politics #Herblock #Doonesbury #Observations #Satire #Culture #podcast #interview #turnthelens

Share

Share Turn the Lens with Jeff Frick on Substack

Discussion about this podcast